How Long Do I Have to File a Lawsuit in California?

Per California law, you would be entitled to financial compensation if you were injured by another person's negligent, reckless or careless actions. Whether you were hit by a drunk driver or misdiagnosed by your doctor, there are ways for you to hold the responsible party accountable; however, it is important to understand that you would only have a certain amount of time to bring legal action against them. Depending on the specific civil action that you are planning on taking, the statute of limitations will range between one and four years. More specifically, California law states that your personal injury lawsuit must be filed within:

  • Legal Malpractice: 1 year
  • Medical Malpractice: 3 years
  • Personal Injury: 2 years
  • Product Liability: 2 years
  • Breach of Contract: 4 years
  • Libel / Slander: 1 year

If you fail to take action within this period of time, you must forfeit your right to seek compensation. For this reason, it is highly recommended that you involve a Modesto personal injury lawyer as soon as possible. In doing so, you may be able to maximize your chances of financial recovery. Even if you think that the statute of limitations has already expired on your case, you should not hesitate to speak with the legal team at our firm—as there may be a chance that the statute of limitations could be extended.

For example, the "discovery rule" would allow you to bring suit even after the statute of limitations has expired if you can prove that your injuries were not immediately apparent. For this reason, you would have nothing to lose by discussing your case with a Modesto personal injury attorney from the Law Offices of Steven A. Fabbro today. Your initial consultation is free when you contact our firm at (209) 803-5117 or submit a complimentary case evaluation form online.

30+ Years of Experience.

More than $300M Recovered.